0
X is changing how blocking works to curb abuse

X is changing how blocking works to curb abuse

Do you know when someone blocks you? X (formerly Twitter), can they still reply to your posts? This opens up the possibility of abuse, when someone blocks you and then defames, impersonates, or otherwise abuses you on the same platform without you seeing it.

Now, X is changing the way blocking works. On Thursday, the company's engineering account explained the changes as follows: “If a user who has blocked you replies to one of your posts, you will now be able to see their reply. This change Enables you to identify and report any potentially malicious content you might not have seen before, protecting both your account and the overall integrity of our platform.”

Elon Musk owns X Said before The block functionality on the X “doesn't make sense,” and that it will be “deleted as a feature other than DM.” Although it hasn't happened yet, it seems like X is working to change the blockchain feature until it fits Musk's idea of ​​working as a platform. “Public Town Square.”

Mashable Light Speed

“Our goal is to allow users to control their experience while maintaining the public visibility of posts,” added a post from X's engineering team.

One unresolved issue remains: reporting abuse on X Doesn't seem like much work. I've reported a number of scam accounts over the past couple of months, and they seem to keep popping up. The company's strategy of charging customers for being “verified.” Blue check mark do not have Did a lot To fix the problem, either.

About the Author

Leave a Reply